top of page

JONONE

John Andrew Perello, known as JonOne, is a graffiti artist born in the Harlem ghetto of New York in 1963.

At the age of 17, he began his graffiti journey. As a hidden writer on the A train subway line in New York, John, now JonOne, founded the renowned international collective 156 All Starz in 1984, with the support of a handful of graffiti activists. During these early years, he crossed paths with the French artist Bando, who immediately invited him to Paris.

The artist then roamed the streets alongside the pioneers of the French hip-hop movement and started producing paintings in a studio set up at the Hôpital Éphémère. His works were exhibited by Agnès b., Willem Speerstra, Magda Danysz, Marcel Strouk, and David Pluskwa.

His canvases have also been showcased in Tokyo, Monaco, New York, and Hong Kong. Whether in the underground metro tunnels or the light-filled galleries, Jonone wholeheartedly embraces his connection with France and has never left the territory. He continues to reside in Paris to this day.

He is currently considered the most significant active abstract expressionist artist emerging from the graffiti world.

Artiste - Jonone
bottom of page

Jonone

JONONE

John Andrew Perello dit JonOne est artiste graffeur , né dans le ghetto new-yorkais d’Harlem, en 1963.

À l’âge de 17 ans, il débute le Graffiti. Writer embusqué sur la ligne A du métro de New York, John devenu Jonone fonde, épaulé d’une poignée d’activistes graffers, l’illustre collectif international 156 All Starz, en 1984. Ces early years voient la rencontre avec le français Bando, qui l’invite immédiatement à Paris.

L’artiste arpente alors le macadam, en compagnie des pionniers du mouvement Hip-hop français, et entame une production de peintures au coeur d’un atelier campé à l’Hôpital Éphémère. Agnès b., Willem Speerstra, Magda Danysz, Marcel Strouk ou David Pluskwa l’exposent.

Ses toiles connaissent également l’honneur d’expositions à Tokyo, Monaco, New York ou Hongkong. Dans les sous-sols du métro ou la lumière des galeries, Jonone consomme à pleines dents son mariage hexagonal, et ne quittera plus le territoire. Aujourd’hui, il vit toujours à Paris.

Il est à ce jour le plus important expressionniste abstrait en activité, issu du monde du Graffiti.

SES ŒUVRES DISPONIBLES DANS NOTRE GALERIE :

© 2020 by Galerie Lagrange.  Nous contacter